Chicago ATHENA Leadership Award® Recipients

Supporting, Honoring and Developing Women Leaders

ATHENA Award Recipients embody the attributes of the ATHENA Leadership Model which affirms women’s unique ways of knowing and leading.  When combined with the best of the traditional leadership characteristics of hard work, taking risks and assertiveness, the ATHENA Leadership Model provides the model of leadership necessary for success in the global marketplace of the 21st century. The quote from Plato, “What is honored in a country will be cultivated there,” is practically demonstrated by the presentation of these awards and upholds ATHENA’s mission of supporting, developing and honoring women leaders, inspiring women to achieve their full potential—creating balance in leadership worldwide.


2012 - Loretta Risebnayer, Founder and CEO, InTren

           Karen Atwood, President, BCBS Illinois

2011 – Marsha Serlin, Founder and CEO, United Scrap Metal

            Hedy Ratner, Founder and Co-President, Women's Business Development Center

2010 – Anne Pramaggiore, President and Chief Operating Officer, ComEd

             Anne Ladky, Executive Director, Women Employed

2009 Sherren Leigh, President and Founder, Today’s Chicago Woman

             Laura Thrall, President and Chief Executive Officer, United Way

2008 Cristina Benitez, President and Founder, Lazos Latinos

             Carol Lavin Bernick, Executive Chair, Alberto Culver Company

2007 –  Donna J. Thompson, Chief Executive Officer, Access Community Health Network

2006 –  Kathy Hopinkah Hannan, National Managing Partner for Diversity / Corporate Social   Responsibility, KPMG

2005 Deborah DeHaas, Midwest Managing Partner, Deloitte


2012 - Dara Griffith, Director Entrepreneurial Service, RSM McGladrey
            Una Pipic, Director, Chicago Entrepreneurial Center

2011 –
Rachel Halstuk Mangoubi, Investment Manager, Mesirow Financial

             Lanetta Haynes Turner, Executive Director, CASA of Cook County

2010 – Dorri McWhorter, Partner, Crowe Horwath LLP

             Isa Ellis, Board Member, Chicago Foundation for Women

2009 Wendy Farley, VP, Government Relations, Comcast

            Jennifer Gibbons, Founder, Recovery on Water

2008 Megan Leider, Teacher, St. Rita of Cascia High School

2007 Mary Katherine Krause, Associate Vice President, University Relations, Rush University


2011 – McDonald's Corporation accepted by Audrey Williams-Lee

2010 – Northern Trust accepted by Connie Lindsey

2009 – Girl Scouts of Chicago and Northwest Indiana Region accepted by Maria Wynne



ATHENA INTERNATIONAL | PO BOX 811188 | CHICAGO, IL 60681 | 312.580.0111
© 2011 ATHENA International. All rights reserved